Indian Parliament all set for the winter session

NC Network

The winter session of Indian Parliament will start from 11 December for a month. On the same day the counting of votes will take place for the Assembly elections in five states of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram. 

On Tuesday night the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA)  recommended convening of the Winter Session from December 11 to January 8, official sources said on Wednesday.

This session would be the last full Parliament session of the Narendra Modi government before the 2019 general elections.

The Assembly elections results will decide the Parliamentary proceedings. 

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Vijay Goel confirmed the session would held from December 11 to January 8 and added it would have 20 working days.

"We seek support and cooperation of all parties for the smooth functioning of Parliament during the session," he said.

Bills like Triple Talaq, Indian Medical Council amendment ordinance and the companies amendment ordinance are likely to pass in this session.

Usually the winter session starts in the month of November, however this would be for the second time that it would start in December. 

The session was delayed this year due to the Assembly elections in five states.

With inputs from agency

Post a comment