18 years of Vijay Diwas

Anagha Telang

July 26th is considered as one of the most important and glorifying dates in the Indian history. On this day 18 years ago the Indian Army recaptured all  the Indian Posts in Kargil that had been occupied by Pakistan's Army. This day has been observed annually to commemorate the sacrifices made by soldiers in the Kargil war. 

What was Kargil War?
  • The war took place between May and July in the year 1999. 
  • It took place in the Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil district.
  • The war is believed to have been started  by the then Pakistan army chief General Pervez Musharraf without the knowledge of the then Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.
  • It began when both Pakistani troops and terrorists entered the Indian territory.
  • The infiltrators positioned themselves in major locations that  gave them a strategic advantage during the start of the conflict.
  • Based on information from local shepherds, the Indian Army  was able totrack those points of incursion and launch  "Operation Vijay".

Vijay Diwas
Since then the day has been declared as Vijay Diwas by the Indian Army.

For the victory humanity had to pay a high price as the official deaths on the Indian side was 527, and on the side of Pakistan it was between 357 to 453.

Details Of The War
  • The Pakistani army got an advantage as the soldiers and terrorists had positioned themselves at higher altitudes.
  • They shot down 2 Indian fighter jets while another fighter jet crashed down during the war.
  • When the Pakistani troops withdrew, the Indian arm Forces attacked the remaining outposts and won the war on 26 July,1999.

Gallantry Awards 

  • Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers, Param Vir Chakra
  • Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey, 1/11 Gorkha Rifles, Param Vir Chakra, Posthumous
  • Captain Vikram Batra, 13 JAK Rifles, Param Vir Chakra, Posthumous (In pic)
  • Rifleman Sanjay Kumar, 13 JAK Rifles, Param Vir Chakra
  • Captain Anuj Nayyar, 17 JAT Regiment, Maha Vir Chakra, Posthumous
  • Major Rajesh Singh Adhikari, 18 Grenadiers, Maha Vir Chakra, Posthumous
  • Captain Haneef-u-ddin, 11 Rajputana Rifles, Vir Chakra, posthumous
  • Major Mariappan Saravanan, 1 Bihar, Vir Chakra, Posthumous
  • Squadron Leader Ajay Ahuja, Indian Air Force, Vir Chakra, Posthumous
  • Hawaldar Chuni Lal, 8 JAK LI, Vir Chakra. Also awarded Sena Medal for gallantry and posthumously awarded Ashok Chakra as a Naib Subedar.

Post a Comment